Georgia SUP Laws
- PFD Requirement: Minimum age: Under 13, While underway, All length vessels
- Approved life jackets: USCG-approved Type I, II, or III, or Type V
- Alcohol Law Georgia has Boating Under the Influence (BUI) laws—0.08% BAL is considered under the influence. .02% BAL if you’re under 21.
- Lights: If a vessel is less than 23 feet long, and underway at night or during periods of reduced visibility, kayaks must carry a 360 degree white light visible for 2 miles.
- Sounding Devices – Carrying a whistle is recommended
- Registration – Any vessel that is propelled only by oar or paddle is exempted from registration.
- Operator Licensing – If you are under 12 years old, you may legally operate a vessel under 16 feet in length which is either non-motorized or powered by a motor of 30 horsepower or less only if they are accompanied by a competent adult. If you’re 12-15, you have to complete a boater education safety course or be accompanied by an adult. For 16 years and up, you can operate any vessel as long as you complete a boater education safety course.
- Visual Distress Signaling- All vessels are required to carry night signaling devices. Manually propelled vessels are exempt from carrying day signaling devices. On federally controlled waters (coastline), all vessels are required to carry U.S. Coast Guard-approved night VDS devices.